Analyzing other good MTVs!

Collecting reference and analysis are part of the important steps in preproduction. We study history because we need to know what has been done. We look at what others have done because we want to do something better!

Here are some MTVs that I picked as reference out of my 260 videos on my youtube playlist.


那些年,我們一起追的女孩
It’s a recommendation from all my friends, really. My song’s mood is pretty much along this mood, and that means the audience will expect some visuals along this line. 蒲公英的约定 is another example.


當冬夜漸暖
I particularly like the treatment of the colorful, distorted lens sequence where the guy envisions a girl. It is a starting point for incorporating abstract elements and treatment in my own MTV.


Love!
This is a really good MTV which makes use of images that fits the mood of the song, like animals and insects at close-up, slow-motion. They have not much relation with the lyrics, hence creating symbolic meanings. I’m definitely looking into these in my MTV.


倉頡
I like how simple a plot can be in an MTV. Here there are only 2 characters and one symbolic ornament, with photography(memory) and flight being the only symbols. This is something I could do in my MTV, with 2 characters and some symbols and that’s it.

So what I need to do now is to:
1) Have a really simple plot between 2 characters, and really unsophisticated environment.
2) Have a variety of images as symbols, which match the mood of the song at the same time.
3) Make use of abstraction when it comes to the climax!
4) Make fair use of editing like slow-motion or rapid cuts, because we can control time to create an effect.

The only thing I can’t decide right now is whether to have my CG character sing the lyrics as part of the MTV. I might do it if my facial deformation and rig is absolutely awesome, otherwise it might destroy the MTV. But having this is a bonus as it shaves off a lot of work to generate the other sequences.

Leave a Reply

